Elipsis – My Chosen Publication

Material Process Print

The title of my publication is from a studio called ‘Max Mara’, they’re a high-end fashion company which was established in 1951 from Italy. The date of this publication was produced in Fall Winter 2015-2016. (The publisher and designer is not shown)

I chose this particular publication based on its overall layout and print process. At first, I wasn’t blown away from its overall design because nothing jumped out at me from the cover alone and overall binding process; Although, as I proceeded to look inside the publication I was very surprised! The paper that they used had a very nice bulk and the colour/shade was used very well to achieve a textured feel to each page.

I discover my publication whilst shopping at Selfridges, they were giving these publications away to the public for free.

(There is no information about designer, illustrator, publisher, printer)

This publication was made in the Fall 2015 and ended in Winter 2016

The publication is A4 sized and has been separated according to Fall and Winter wear. The front pages represent the Fall collection and has been bounded using staples; the material used is a high-quality paper with a thick bulk to prevent ink smudges. The winter collection has also been stapled together but the quality of paper is very different, it has a super gloss applied to the paper giving it a shiny texture.

I think this publication is very successful because it is very rare to see a high-quality fashion look book like this one and what the most surprising aspect of this publication is, it’s free for the public and it confuses me why they wouldn’t charge money for such a high-quality publication.

I’m particularly interested in layout design and how I can manipulate paper so it becomes more exciting to the reader which also adds to the narrative.IMG_3564IMG_3560IMG_3556

Leave a comment